الحساسية هى رد فعل من الجهاز المناعى للجسم على مواد غير ضارة مثل حبوب اللقاح والأطعمة وعثة الغبار. ففى الوقت الذى لا تسبب فيه هذه المواد (المسببة للحساسية) أى مشكلة في معظم الناس إلا أنه في حالة الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الحساسية فإن جهازهم المناعى يتعرف على هذه المواد ويعتبرها " تهديدًا" وبالتالى فإنه يطلق استجابة غير مناسبة عند تعرضه لهذه المواد. الحساسية هى استجابات مناعية عالية الحساسية لمواد غير ضارة مثل حبوب اللقاح والأطعمة وعثة الغبار التى تدخل أو تلامس الجسم.

تسمى المادة التى تسبب الحساسية ب " مسبب الحساسية أو المستأرج". يمكن أن تتواجد هذه المواد في الطعام أو الشراب أو البيئة المحيطة. معظم مسببات الحساسية غير ضارة ولكن في حالة الأشخاص المصابين بالحساسية فإن جهازهم المناعى يعتبر هذه المواد أنها " تهديد" ويصدر استجابة غير صحيحة ضدها.

إذا كنت تعانى من الحساسية لأى مواد مثل حبوب اللقاح فإن جهازك المناعى سوف يتفاعل معها كما لو كانت مادة مسببة للمرض (مادة غريبة ضارة) ويحاول أن يتخلص منها.

ما الذى يسبب الحساسية؟

تحدث تفاعلات الحساسية ضد المواد الموجودة في البيئة والتى تعرف بمسببات الحساسية. يمكن لأى شئ تقريبًا أن يسبب الحساسية لشخص ما. البروتينات هى مركبات عضوية تحتوى على الهيدروجين والأكسجين والنيتروجين وتشكل جزء هامًا من كل الكائنات الحية. توجد كذلك في الطعام إلى جانب الدهون والكربوهيدرات والمواد الأخرى. ومع ذلك, فإن البروتينات وحدها يمكنها أن تسبب تفاعلات حساسية فعلية.

أشهر الأسباب الشائعة لمسببات الحساسية هى :

• حبوب اللقاح من الأشجار والأعشاب
• البروتينات التى تفرزها عثة الغبار
• العفن الفطرى
• الأطعمة مثل المكسرات والفول السودانى واللبن والبيض
• الحيوانات الأليفة مثل القطط والكلاب والحيوانات المشعرة وذات الفراء مثل الأحصنة والأرانب والخنازير الغينية
• الحشرات مثل النحل والدبابير
• الأدوية (يمكنها أن تسبب الحساسية عن طريق الارتباط بالبروتينات الموجودة في الدم والتى تحفز هذه التفاعل)

الأعراض الشائعة التى تصاحب حالات الحساسية:

• العطس
• الصفير
• ألم الجيوب الأنفية
• الرشح الأنفى
• السعال
• طفح القراص \ الشَرَى
• الانتفاخ
• حكة في العينين والأذنين والشفتين والحلق والفم
• قصر النفس
• الغثيان والقىء والإسهال
• زيادة إفرازات الأنف والمجرى الهوائى

تشخيص الحساسية

يوجد عدد من الطرق لتشخيص الحساسية. سوف يقوم الطبيب بسؤال المريض أسئلة متعلقة بأعراض الحساسية ووقت حدوثها ومدى تكرارها وما الذى قد يتسبب فيها والتاريخ المرضى العائلى للحساسية وما إذا كان أحد أعضاء الأسرة ( الذين قد لا يكونون على صلة قرابة بالمريض) يعانى أيضًا من الحساسية.

يوجد في الأسفل بعض الأمثلة على اختبارات الحساسية التى تقدمها منشأتنا:

اختبار وخز الجلد – يعرف كذلك باختبار الوخز. يعتبر هذا الاختبار هو أكثر اختبارات الحساسية التى يتم إجراؤها في مركزنا بواسطة طاقم طبى متخصص ومدرب. اختبار وخز الجلد هو اختبار بسيط وآمن وسريع ويمكن الحصول على نتائجه في غضون 15-20 دقيقة فقط. سوف يمكنك هذا الاختبار من معرفة تشخيصك وخطة علاجك في نفس موعد الزيارة.

يتم وخز الجلد بكمية صغيرة من مسبب الحساسية المحتمل. إذا حدث تفاعل في الجلد وحكة واحمرار وتورم الجلد فإن هذا يعنى وجود تفاعل حساسية. يمكن لذلك أن يساعدك على التأكد من وجود حساسية لطعام أو مادة مستنشقة أيضًا (مسببة للحساسية).

اختبار الدم – لقياس مستويات الجسم الأجسام المضادة الخاصة للجلوبيولين المناعى ( IgE) والتى تفرز بواسطة الجهاز المناعى. يتم إجراء الاختبار على عينة صغيرة من الدم والتى تؤخذ عادة من وريد في الذراع بالطريقة المعتادة. يتم إرسال العينة إلى المعمل ومن ثم تكون النتائج متاحة في غضون من 7 إلى 14 يومًا.

تعد هذه الاختبارات مفيدة خاصة عندما يكون اختبار وخز الجلد غير عملى على سبيل المثال, عندما يعانى المريض من إكزيما واسعة. قد يتم استخدامها كذلك في حالة الأشخاص الذين لا يمكنهم إيقاف تناول الأدوية المضادة للهيستامين لمدة من الوقت وبالتالى فإنهم لن يكونوا مناسبين لإجراء اختبار وخز الجلد عليهم. يمكن أن تستخدم اختبارات الدم كذلك لتأكيد نتائج اختبار وخز الجلد, على سبيل المثال, قبل اختبار حساسية الطعام في المستشفى.

خدمات أخرى

علاج الحساسية

أدوية الحساسية تتحكم الأدوية الموصوفة لعلاج الحساسية في الأعراض والتفاعلات الخاصة بالحساسية ولكنها لا تعالج الحالة. ومع ذلك, فإن استخدام هذه الأدوية كما هى موصوفة يمكن أن يؤدى إلى تغير كبير في صحة ونفسية ونمو المريض بمجرد قيام نظام الأدوية والعلاجات بالتحكم في الأعراض.

المعالجة المناعية تحت اللسان تعتبر المعالجة المناعية تحت اللسان طريقة بديلة لعلاج الحساسية بدون التعرض للحقن. يتم تجهيز مستخرج المادة المسببة للحساسية في شكل قطرات يتناولها المريض بجرعات صغيرة تحت اللسان لمدة دقيقة إلى دقيقتين ثم يقوم ببلعها لتقوية المناعة ضد هذه المادة وتقليل الأعراض. يتم تكرار هذه العملية من ثلاثة أيام في الأسبوع إلى صورة شبه يومية مع وجود توصيات باستمرار هذا العلاج لمدة من ثلاثة إلى خمس سنوات لتكوين مناعة دائمة.

TOP

An allergy is the response of the body's immune system to normally harmless substances, such as pollens, foods, and house dust mite. Whilst in most people these substances (allergens) pose no problem, in allergic individuals their immune system identifies them as a’ threat’ and produces an inappropriate response. Allergies are hypersensitive immune responses to normally harmless substances, such as pollens, foods, and house dust mite that either enter or come in contact with the body.

A substance that causes an allergic reaction is called an "allergen". Allergens can be found in food, drinks or the environment.  Most allergens are harmless, in allergic individuals their immune system identifies them as a’ threat’ and produces an inappropriate response.

If you are allergic to a substance, such as pollen, your immune system reacts to it as if it were a pathogen (a foreign harmful substance), and tries to destroy it.

What is Causing Your Allergy?

Allergic reactions are caused by substances in the environment known as allergens. Almost anything can be an allergen for someone. Proteins are organic substances which contain hydrogen, oxygen and nitrogen, and form an important part of all living organisms. There are also found in food, along with fats, carbohydrates and other substances. However, only proteins can cause true allergic reactions.

The most common causes of allergic reactions are:

  • pollen from trees and grasses
  • proteins secreted from house dust mites
  • moulds
  • foods such as peanuts, tree nuts, milk and eggs
  • pets such as cats and dogs, and other furry or hairy animals such as horses, rabbits and guinea pigs
  • insects such as wasps and bees
  • medicines (these may cause reactions by binding to proteins in the blood, which then trigger the reaction)
  Common symptoms associated with allergic conditions include:
  • sneezing
  • wheezing
  • sinus pain
  • runny nose
  • coughing
  • nettle rash / hives
  • swelling
  • itchy eyes, ears, lips throat and mouth
  • shortness of breath
  • sickness, vomiting &diarrhoea
  • increase in nasal and airway secretions

Diagnosing allergies

There are a number of ways to diagnose an allergy.
The doctor will ask the patient questions regarding the allergy symptoms, when they occur, how often and what seems to cause them, family history of allergies, and whether other household members (who might not be relatives) have allergies.

Below are some examples of allergy tests that our facility is offering:
Skin prick test - also known as puncture testing or prick testing. SPT is the most common allergy test performed in our clinic by specially trained staff. SPT is a simple, safe and quick test, providing results within 15-20 minutes. This will enable you to receive a diagnosis and management plan at your appointment.

The skin is pricked with a small amount of a possible allergen. If there is a skin reaction - itchy, red and swollen skin - it may mean there is an allergy.

It can help to confirm the presence of an allergy to either a food or inhaled substance (allergen).
Blood test - to measures levels of IgE antibodies released by the immune system. The test is carried out on a small sample of blood, usually taken from a vein in the arm in the usual way. The sample is then sent to a laboratory and the results are available in 7 to 14 days.

These tests are particularly useful when skin prick testing is impractical, for example, when the patient has extensive eczema. They may also be used for someone who cannot stop taking anti-histamine medications for any period of time, and so would not be suitable for a skin prick test. Blood tests can also be used to confirm skin prick test results, for example, before a food challenge test in hospital.

Other Services

The Management of Allergy
Allergy Medications The treatments prescribed for allergy control the symptoms and reactions; they do not cure the condition. However, using treatments as prescribed can show a huge change in a patient’s health, mood and development once the medication or treatment routine is working to control the symptoms.
Sublingual immunotherapy (SLIT) SLIT is an alternative way to treat allergies without injections. An allergen extract is prepared in drop form, taken by patient in small doses under the tongue for one to two minutes and then swallow it to boost tolerance to the substance and reduce symptoms.  The process is repeated from three days a week to as often as daily with recommendations that therapy is continued for three to five years to develop a lasting immunity.

TOP